Book Review

Photo credit: Adina B. of Bliss Culture Photography, DFinney Photography 101 Mentor Session, Washington, DC, March 2015. Makeup by Denyelle D. of Denyelle.com

Don’t ask me my opinion on that book you want to read. My response will be “I enjoyed it”. Which book? Doesn’t matter. I always enjoy it.

You see, no two books are identical. They all have unique styles and viewpoints and can be interpreted in many different ways. I respect anyone who articulates their thoughts in order for me to gain understanding.

“Love is just the skin of knowing.” – Wm. Paul Young, The Shack

Take PUSH by Sapphire, for example. Some may read it as lewd and vulgar. I read it as a journey through battling illiteracy. I was intrigued by Precious’ determination to learn and grow despite her circumstances. Her writing samples were my focus.

Whether I agree with them or not, I want to read every line that’s written and grasp the story as if in the author’s head.

I get a kick out of analyzing people. Not just understanding what they are trying to say, but understanding why they speak in such a tone, what they are feeling and thinking, and listening for hurt or pain or joy or grief or excitement or sadness. I want to know what you’ve been through as a child that’s impacting your adult decisions.

“Why do children love to hide and seek? Ask any person who has a passion to explore and discover and create. The choice to hide so many wonders from you is an act of love that is a gift inside the process of life.” – Wm. Paul Young, The Shack

To me this is ultimate open-mindedness. See, I don’t judge you based on the synopsis. That’s just one aspect. I seek to understand you. When I read, I become the author or the main character. I dive right in. I can’t hear the telephone ringing or someone calling my name. I indulge. I want to smell the pages. The story comes to life in my head. Like a movie.

“Emotions are the colors of the soul; they are spectacular and incredible. When you don’t feel, the world becomes dull and colorless.” – Wm. Paul Young, The Shack

So, did I like the book? Yes, I enjoyed it.

It’s like a dream – an escape in my own mind. And once I reach the last page, I usually flip right back to the first to read it one more time to get a kick out of anything I may have missed.

The Shack – Well… I particularly enjoyed this one. More than enjoyed; I lived and loved this book. I too have experienced a “great sadness” of a different sort. So it didn’t take much role-playing for me to relate to the main character. But, it was grace that carried me through.

“Just because I work incredible good out of unspeakable tragedies doesn’t mean I orchestrate the tragedies. Don’t ever assume that my using something means I caused it or that I need it to accomplish my purposes. That will only lead you to false notions about me. Grace doesn’t depend on suffering to exist, but where there is suffering you will find grace in many facets and colors.” – Wm. Paul Young, The Shack

7 thoughts on “Book Review

  1. These books I never considered reading, but now I’m interested. Thank you. You give it a much deeper explanation than what I knew was there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

