Baby Steps to Cleaner Eating

This morning my girlfriends chatted about their clean eating menus for the week and how they’re eliminating sugar. And I thought “that sounds really nice” lol. It does, it does. But I am just not ready yet. What I am capable of doing right now is taking baby steps to cleaner eating.

There was a time when I could care less about the health content of the food I ate. That’s when I was “young and dumb”. I’m grown now and I no longer rely on old school feel good recipes. I’m trying new things and cooking in a lighter way.

I used to fry bacon then use that oil to drown my cabbage in while I boiled all of the nutrients right out of it, thinking that was the flavor it needed. Smh bacon-flavored veggies. Not the way to go.

Tonight hubby lightened up our cabbage and its never tasted better!

Ingredients:

  • 1 head cabbage shredded
  • 1 stalk scallion whole
  • 1 carrot shaved
  • 1 Tbs pulled pork
  • 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp creole seasoning
  • pinch of salt & pepper
  • sprinkle granulated chicken bouillon

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in medium frying pan. Add pulled pork, scallion, salt and pepper. Saute on medium high heat for two minutes.
  2. Add cabbage, carrot, onion powder, creole seasoning, and bouillon. Continue to saute for eight minutes, stirring every two minutes.
3 thoughts on “Baby Steps to Cleaner Eating

Leave a Reply

