Hunger Perpective

Have you ever eaten fried fish and spaghetti? Not just spaghetti.. and not just fried fish. But fried fish and spaghetti – the meal. I don’t know where this combination originated, but it works!

Hubby fries the best fish. So last night we waited for him to get home so that he could cook the fish to go with the spaghetti I made. Problem is, he didn’t get home until five minutes past the time I needed to leave to go to my board meeting at the soup kitchen. Smh, just have to eat when I get back. Although nothing beats fish fresh off the fryer.

I made it to the meeting. As we began to discuss strategic planning in an otherwise quiet room, what happens? My stomach starts growling! Man, all I could think about was how that fish was probably frying up golden right now. I zoned out for a minute. Looked around the room and saw everyone a little differently. I saw a group of moms, dads, grandparents, students, and professionals, who are all focused at this minute on the same cause. Who are willing to give of their own time to selflessly help others. I am here for this. Perspective.

Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. (James 2:15-17 NIV)

I am blessed to have food to eat and know where my next meal is coming from, to be able to pass on a plate right now because I know I can have more later. But there are so many who are hungry without those options. I am here for them.

2 thoughts on “Hunger Perpective

Leave a Reply

