Rainbow Weather

Usually when there’s a praise report to share, I post a blog with all the details. But the sun don’t shine all day long, you know? And sometimes, even in the midst of greatness, you have clouds and drizzle.

Yesterday we had a severe storm warning. The clouds were full and gray and moved so rapidly. There was silence. Then all of a sudden the rain started to downpour. It rained so heavily and at the same time, the sun shined more brightly than I had ever seen. It is possible to have great storms during the brightest of days. Sometimes we go out on the porch and just watch the beauty of the extremes and wait for the skies to clear so we can admire the vibrant rainbow.

Today I’m not going to tell you about what awards my kids have earned or what development milestones they’ve mastered early, what diet I’m sticking with or how much I’ve checked off of my to-do list. I am very proud of my babies and I’m not complaining; I just feel the urge to share a well-rounded representation. Because kids are not 100% the same 100% of the time. While they can master one of your expectations, they can struggle with another at the same time.

Take one of our shopping excursions, for example. I could say:

Going shopping with three children is a full-time job. The good news is I was able to find some really good deals and get in and out in record time!

OR…

Trust me – NEVER go shopping with three kids, especially if you need to try on clothes. This is what online shopping is made for. I had to drag one out of the mall kicking and screaming (before, I fear, we got asked to leave), send one to her room for the rest of the night for talking back once we got home, and the baby’s been holding my nipples hostage all day long; I may as well walk around topless.

Sharing is not always about the highlight reel. Sometimes the blessing is found in the background. As parents we have to remind ourselves that neither ourselves nor our children are perfect. We are all a work in progress and some days will be better than others. We all experience high highs and low lows. What’s important is to continually weather the storm and await the rainbow.

Photo credit: Troy J. Stewart of Troy Stewart Photography, DFinney Photography 101 Mentor Session, Washington, DC, March 2015. Makeup by Denyelle D. of Denyelle.com

4 thoughts on “Rainbow Weather

Leave a Reply

