Kale Chips

Whenever I go out to eat and taste something exceptional I make it a point to try and master the recipe at home.

Hubby and I don’t dine out often. But when we do, we love Vidalia’s in D.C. The last time we dined there was during Restaurant Week – our favorite time to eat out 😉 As always, our dinner was superb.

The menu read “kale” for one of the sides with my duck breast. I consider Vidalia’s to serve 5-star southern cuisine. So, I was expecting the kale to be cooked down, the way I’d prepare collard greens. But, no, it was the lightest, crispest, melt-in-your-mouth greens I’d ever tasted.

I vowed to duplicate it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp kosher or sea salt
  • 1 Tbs grated Parmesan

Directions:

  1. Rinse kale thoroughly.  
  2. Lay kale out on paper towels, covering and pressing with additional paper towels to dry thoroughly.    
  3. Tear kale to remove the ribs.  
  4. Arrange in a single layer on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.  Coat with olive oil, using your fingers to rub each piece of kale. Sprinkle with salt.     
  5. Bake at 300° for 10 minutes.  
  6. Remove from the oven when kale is crisp to touch, before browning.   
  7. Sprinkle with Parmesan.  

Bonus – the kids love it!


Make it your own. I look forward to spicing it up next time with some cayenne or white pepper or maybe adding some fresh garlic and basil.

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

