Quick & Easy Homemade Pop Tarts

Now that school is back in session I’m trying my best to stay on top of things early. Babygirl is always hungry after school. So, today I thought ahead and prepared something special and sweet that did not take a lot of time. 

Yesterday I stopped at the farmer’s market and grabbed a bag full of peaches. Gosh, these are the sweetest peaches! Perfect for cobbler – one of my favorite desserts. But, with the first day of school in mind, I decided to make some quick peachy treats for the little ones. 

First I made some peach “apple” sauce. So much better than store bought pouches – only one ingredient! Just steam, puree, then pouch it up yourself. I use the Infantino Squeeze Station and love it.  

 
I had leftover puree and decided to try something different. Homemade Pop Tarts. This was entirely impromptu and turned out perfect. I had a store bought pie crust in the fridge. I regularly make my own crust and you can find that recipe on my “Auntie’s Apple Pie” blogpost: https://ofgraceandgravity.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/aunties-apple-pie/ . But for the sake of time (and ingredients) I went with the already prepared crust. 

Puffed pastry would also work beautifully, giving a more pillowy crust. And any pureed fruit can be substituted just fine. 

 

  1. Cut the pie crust into 8 sections.
  2. Spoon some pureed fruit on top of 4 of the sections, staying away from the edges. 
  3. Seal each pastry with the remaining 4 sections, using a milk wash along the edges to press and seal together. 
  4. Use a fork to crimp the edges. 
  5. Brush milk on top of each tart then sprinkle with sugar. 
  6. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes, until golden brown. 

I added some icing on top by whisking the liquid from the peaches I steamed earlier (about 1/2 cup) and powdered sugar (about 2 cups). Then drizzled that on top. You could use milk to thicken it up more and food coloring to make it interesting. But I stuck with quick, easy, and what I had on hand.  


The kids loved them! The good thing about them is they can also serve as a light breakfast, perfect when getting back into the routine of waking up early for school. Just grab and go!

2 thoughts on “Quick & Easy Homemade Pop Tarts

Leave a Reply

