Flaxseed Gel for Loc Maintenance, Braidouts, Twistouts, and Wash & Go’s

Having a sensitive scalp condition (Seborrheic Dermatitis), I have to be very particular about what I put on my scalp and hair. I prefer to keep my scalp clean and free of product. So, I avoid using chemicals. Flaxseed Gel has been the most gentle alternative for me for my loc maintenance. It provides a soft hold, is safe enough to eat, and is very nourishing for my hair and scalp.

Not only is it a safe, clean, and healthy alternative for retwisting locs, but flaxseed gel is also ideal for braidouts, twistouts, and wash and go’s. It gives defined silky curls. Here’s a braidout achieved with my homemade flaxseed gel:

  
All you need for the basic recipe is Whole Golden Flaxseeds, Raw Honey, and Water. Simple.

Flaxseeds are rich in Omega 3 Fatty Acids which combats dry flaky scalp. It’s also cost-effective, all natural, and moisturizing.

Honey acts as a natural preservative, which can extend the life of the gel from 2 to 3 weeks, refrigerated. Honey is also anti-microbial, anti-bacterial, and an antioxidant. This is a great natural remedy to fight psoriasis, fungus, and dandruff. It calms and heals the scalp while adding shine and hold to your hair.

Water is the best moisturizer. It works to hydrate your scalp and hair.

The longer you cook the flaxseeds, the thicker the gel you will yield. Careful – too thick and you’ll have trouble straining it; remember that it thickens as it cools. Other natural ingredients and essential oils can be added to the gel to boost hold, shine, and overall health.

For exact measurements and instructions, click here to see my Flaxseed Gel tutorial on YouTube: https://youtu.be/_UiTEA38Gfc

You can find all of these ingredients to begin making your own flaxseed gel at home on Amazon. Here is a direct link to my Amazon store where I have all of my favorite things in convenient categories: http://astore.amazon.com/ofgracandgrav-20 (Click on “Loccrush Hair Must Haves” in the sidebar).

9 thoughts on “Flaxseed Gel for Loc Maintenance, Braidouts, Twistouts, and Wash & Go’s

    1. Hi, water is the best moisturizer, then follow it up oil to seal the moisture in. You can start Locs in a variety of ways. Two strand twists is a common way to start. It’s based on personal preference and hair texture. I suggest looking at some YouTube videos of people who have started theirs with two strand twists and see how you like their progress. Congrats on starting your journey!

      Like

Leave a Reply

