6 Tips For Keeping Your Breastaurant Open

So, baby girl is almost 18 months old now and we’re still breastfeeding regularly.

My body has always produced a great amount of milk. Each of my children have been breastfed for over a year and have never tasted formula. There are many factors to consider when it comes to milk production, including diet, exercise, emotional state, etc. I’m sharing a few simple tips on how I keep my breastmilk still going strong.

  1. Breastfeeding is a bonding experience. Baby is getting the healthiest milk directly from mama. We get to hold each other, giggle, play a blinking game, have a conversation using body language – it’s actually a lot more fun than most realize. Nursing skin-to-skin is an ultimate comfort for baby/baby and mama and increases your odds of upping your milk production. Just grab a blanket and cozy up. 
  2. Stay hydrated. Drink plenty of water. Your body has to be able to keep up with the fluids leaving your body. My rule of thumb is 32oz first thing in the morning, 16-24oz before lunch, 16-24oz before dinner.
  3. Eat well. Oatmeal, green smoothies, lots of fresh fruit and veggies, and fresh salmon are some foods that naturally help milk production. Remember you’re still eating to nourish two.
    Raw Oatmeal Peanut Butter Snack Ball batter

            

  4. Relax yourself. If you are tense and anxious and worried and angry your milk supply will be affected. You have to relax and calm down. Practice yoga, meditate, pray – do what it takes to give yourself some inner peace. 
  5. Over-the-counter remedies such as fenugreek, nursing teas, and lactation cookies are known to stimulate milk production and are great alternatives for a natural boost. Click on Shop Loccrush below to find all of these items in my Amazon store.  
  6. Feed, feed, feed, pump, pump, pump. Be sure to invest in a good pump. I bought my Medela Pump In Style thirteen years ago to use with our first daughter and have used the same pump with our second and third child and a couple of friends have borrowed it as well. Your milk supply works based on supply and demand – the more baby demands, the greater your supply. Now, this takes consistency – you can’t take a day off or switch to formula for a few days and expect your supply to be the same. Stick to your routine; skipping feedings will lead to a reduced supply. To increase your supply once this happens takes work – you’ll have to feed more often and pump more often (more demand). Try breastfeeding on each side then pumping right after. Or pump and breastfeed at the same time with a Pump Strap, pictured below.  

I’ve recently been using the Pump Strap to breastfeed and pump at the same time handsfree and also to dual pump so that I can multitask. This is super-convenient if you don’t have a lot of free time to breastfeed then pump in the same sitting. Use discount code LOCCRUSH for 30% off on http://www.pumpstrap.com. You can also find the Pump Strap on Amazon by clicking the Shop Loccrush link below.

You can find all of the products mentioned on Amazon. Here is a direct link to my Amazon store: http://astore.amazon.com/ofgraceandgrav-20. Click on “For Expectant Mama & Baby” in the sidebar.

Amazon Store Banner4

8 thoughts on “6 Tips For Keeping Your Breastaurant Open

  1. You Are great…. I also try to help all my friends and baby’s whenever there are breastfeeding problems….
    It’s so important to eat and drink well and to really want it…..
    I love your locs… Love Helene

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is great information. Unfortunately my son will not latch so I have been exclusively pumping. I must admit it was had especially trying to establish A significant milk supply. I was reading and googling everything. Freaking out worrying if I will have enough milk it almost drove me crazy. What really helped was relaxing taking it one day at a time, drinking at least a gallon of water a day, fenugreek pills and never giving up although I wanted to especially when everyone says how the bond with their child while breastfeeding. However I still having my bonding time with him while feeding him skin to skin it’s my version of breastfeeding lol. I’m almost 3months I thank God🙌🏽,didn’t think I would make it a month. .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

